Kids these Days, and a few words on Christmas

I read somewhere once that when birds tweet, they aren’t talking so much as asking the same question over and over.  Each bird says “I am here, where are you?” only to receive a similar response from another bird.  I’d like to think that the internet acts the same way.  When I blog, I am simply penning my thoughts in an overly drawn out way of saying “I am here, where are you?” and each comment is a tweet back.  I only say this because I want to thank everyone who reads these posts and especially thank those who bother to comment.  I had a pretty stripped down Christmas this year, but I think it was still one of my bests in my overall lifetime.  I felt accomplished, good about myself and thankful for everything life had given me.  Like the ending to a sappy-faux-deep indie film, I felt like I had “found myself” or at least found a few things to keep me occupied as I pilot my wooden boat through the murky waters of life.

So, before this starts sounding like some fakey-flakey bullshit, let’s get to the heart of the matter, shall we?

I wanted to share a little something personal, now that Christmas is over, and we’re entering a new year.  It’ll be a final toast to what I would consider less a year, and more a collection of highly interesting events.  It’ll also be a semi-rant on ungrateful brats.

Growing up was interesting for me.  My parents divorced when I was two.  My dad had a good job as a salesman.  He took me on skiing trips, bought me rollerblades, a bike with pompoms, doll houses, a bed with a princess veil over it and took me on trips all over the country.  My mom was left with nothing, could barely feed me and hardly bought me anything.  I remember days when she would make something for me and I’d ask her if she was going to eat.  She’d respond with “I already ate” or “I’m not hungry.”   Being young and naïve I, of course, bought it.

When I was seven my dad remarried a woman with a few kids and a lot of baggage.  Her last husband had been abusive in multiple ways to both her children and her.  I remember on his wedding day he pulled me aside and told me that they needed him more than I did.  Being young, I thought that was normal.

Basically, I developed a much closer relationship with my mother, though it wasn’t perfect and she was still bitter with me.  She accused me of looking like my dad, or of preferring him.  My dad accused me of acting like my mom.  I was a very confused and torn child who ended up just being stubborn and stomping my feet whenever they acted up.  Not to paint either of them in a bad light, of course.  I have my issues with them, but that’s not the point.

If I had to say anything negative it would be toward my dad.  He abandoned me.  He lost interest and essentially stopped being my father.  Funny how he acted surprised when I no longer wanted to live with him.  Christmas with him was empty, despite the great gifts I always got.  I got dolls, and doll houses and new bikes and skis and oh, lets’ not forget trips to Disneyland.  Oh, I enjoyed them and was grateful, but deep down they felt empty and impersonal.  My mom was so poor that she often could only afford one gift, but it was always a gift I treasured.  One year, she bought me a fish tank.  I maintained it for years, cleaning it and feeding my fish diligently.

I remember seeing a video a few years back that has essentially become an ‘old meme’ at this point.  It’s mostly known as n64 kid or kid freaks out over getting n64.  People tend to look favorably on this video because it reminds them of simpler times.  Some remember getting their SNES for the first time, or others, the NES.  I, myself, never hated the video, or loved it.  My experience with getting my first system was a bit different.

I never received gifts in big boxes, not even from my dad.  It was always this weird kid dream of mine.  Frankly, I wouldn’t care what was in the box, but the exhilaration of seeing a huge box under the tree and having no way of knowing what was in it was more than my young heart could take.  Then, one year, there was a big box under the tree at my mom’s house.  “How could this be?” I thought.  I didn’t get big gifts from her.  She couldn’t afford them.  As I tore the wrapping away I caught a glimpse of the logo.  An N64.  I cried, I screamed, I didn’t even think the damn thing was real.  I think I even asked her if it was just the box that she was reusing and if there was something different inside.  Hell, I even tried to pay her some of my allowance money because I felt the purchase was too big for her.

Lately, I’ve been hearing so much shit from ungrateful kids, whining on their myspace and their livejournal about how crappy their life is—how they pretend to have mental issues because it’s edgy and an excuse for their douchebag behavior.  I love it when I walk into the supermarket and see some middle class mother giving into her brat’s demands (It’s not a racial thing.  I’m white and I didn’t get away with that shit).  Kids these days demand the nicest cell phones and cars and video games.  I went to school with kids who drove Escalades and Mercedes and yelled at their parents over their brand new Razor cell phones.  I sit at my computer and shake my head, wishing these ungrateful little brats had to deal with at least one iota of difficulty in their lifetimes to appreciate all the nice things they get.

Lately, an influx of kid freaks out over xbox360 vids have been pouring in and once again, I don’t care…or at least I didn’t until I saw this one.

Damn it world.  Just when I start thinking there’s nothing good in you, you go and pull a stunt like that.  Way to go kid.  You deserve that system. 🙂

~ by sniffits on January 1, 2010.

4 Responses to “Kids these Days, and a few words on Christmas”

  1. I heard a lot of complaints like that quite often lately (from adults, of course). Kids these days tend to take things for granted and value convenience over hard working. Still, I believe there are lots of good children out there that I cannot see. I have never gone through such experience like yours but I find it quite captivating reading your post 🙂

    • It’s always a little scary writing personal posts, so I’m glad you liked it. Honestly, I don’t even consider my life bad, especially compared to some, and I am extremely grateful what for what I have. I am also of the opinion that the bad in our lives is part of what shapes us into who we are, and I quite like who I am.

      Have a good New Year.

  2. My family was never poor, but my parents refuse to spend money on anything that isn’t immediately life-threatening, so I empathize. When I get something, I appreciate it. Or rather, my parents won’t let me not appreciate it.

    Anyway, good story. Could’ve used a few dinosaurs, but I won’t hold it against you. Readers appreciate the occasional personal touch. Digitalboy has even been encouraging it in his Diary of an Anime Lived series. If this post had anything to do with anime, it would certainly qualify.

    • I couldn’t find a way to fit in dinosaurs. I know, it’s terrible of me. They are often forgotten.

      This is actually more of a tie in with video games, though I think I may write a post in the vein of an anime lived, considering what it has done for me, especially during high school years. I’m glad you liked the post.

Leave a Reply

 
